Security Council

The Security Council is one of the six main organs of the United Nations, responsible for both the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations. Its realm of authority does not remain limited with the regulations of the peacekeepers sent by voluntary member states as is known; Security Council also owns the capability of the establishment of international sanctions and military operations that will be mediated through the resolutions passed in the committee.

United Nations Security Council consists of five permanent seat holders while all five of them have the veto power (the People’s Republic of China, the French Republic, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America), and ten non-permanent member states with no veto power, elected to serve for two years, all being chosen from various regions in order to ensure that perspectives of all geographic regions are being presented in decision making.Throughout the conference, delegates in Security Council will debate upon the situation of frozen states with a special focus on South Ossetia as well as the Ambazonia conflict.

Click on the agenda items to see the Study Guides.

·The question of frozen conflict states with a special focus on South Ossetia

·Tackling the Ambazonia conflict in Cameroon

Click here to see Security Council’s Rules of Procedure